Commission for the Investigation of Suspected Research Misconduct

The commission is appointed by the Senate of the JGU and has the task to advise the Presidential Board of the JGU in matters of ensuring good scientific practice as well as to investigate suspected scientific misconduct. (Section 23 Subsection 3 from the JGU Regulations)

Its members are a university professor from the field of law, a student and an academic staff member; in addition, a deputy is appointed in each case in the event that the member is prevented from attending or is biased. The ombudsperson (or their deputy) and an external member who is qualified to hold judicial office belong to the commission in an advisory capacity. The commission is free to consult experts from the respective scientific field or experts for dealing with scientific misconduct in an advisory or expert capacity. (see Section 23 JGU Regulations).

A procedure is brought by the commission according to Section 25 of the JGU Regulations if either the ombudsperson refers the case to the commission after an initial examination or - in the case of prior discontinuation of the investigation by the ombudsperson - if the person providing the information, the presidium or the dean convenes the commission. The exact procedure is regulated by Section 25 of the JGU Regulations.


Members of the Commission for the Investigation of Suspected Research Misconduct

Commission members

  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Karsten Schneider, FB 03 (Head of the Commission)
  • Marit Heinze
  • Prof. Dr. Walburgis Brenner, FB 04

Deputizing members

  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Elke Gurlit, FB 03
  • Franziska Schlicke
  • Dr. Annette Schmitt, FB 02

External member

  • Birgit Nennstiel, Landesprüfungsamt für Juristen beim Ministerium der Justiz

Advisory members

  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Alfred Hornung, FB 05
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Hans Zischler, FB 10